Thursday, December 11, 2008

Depeche Mode-Black Celebration[1986]

Black Celebration is the fifth proper studio album by Depeche Mode. Released by Mute Records on March 171986, it further cemented the darkening sound that was initially hinted towards on their album Construction Time Again.

Black Celebration is considered to be a fan-favourite, despite (or because of) its darkness and lack of "notable" singles. It didn't do as well as other albums did and none of the three singles were big hits. The album is one of their darkest as well, and focuses more on the band's bleak side.

Black Celebration is the Depeche Mode album that has the most songs with Martin Gore on lead vocals: "A Question of Lust", "Sometimes", "It Doesn't Matter Two", and "World Full of Nothing". The remaining tracks are sung by David Gahan.

The track "Fly on the Windscreen" had already been released as the B-side of the "It's Called a Heart" single. The band decided to rework the song (adding new effects and making it more stereophonic) and released it as the "Final" version on this album. It was later performed live, and given a slight hip hop edge during the 1993 Devotional Tour. A recorded performance of this version is featured in the live video Devotional and a special live single of "In Your Room".

  • "Black Celebration" – 4:55
  • "Fly on the Windscreen (Final)" – 5:18
  • "A Question of Lust" – 4:20
  • "Sometimes" – 1:53
  • "It Doesn't Matter Two" – 2:50
  • "A Question of Time" – 4:10
  • "Stripped" – 4:16
  • "Here Is the House" – 4:15
  • "World Full of Nothing" – 2:50
  • "Dressed in Black" – 2:32
  • "New Dress" – 3:42

  • No comments: