Monday, October 13, 2008

Deep Purple - Come Taste The Band

Come Taste the Band is an album by the hard rock band Deep Purple recorded between August 3rd and September 1st, 1975 at Musicland Studios in Munich, Germany. The album was co-produced and engineered by the band and longtime band associate Martin Birch. The album was released in October 1975. It was the only studio album with Tommy Bolin, who replaced Ritchie Blackmore on lead guitar. When guitarist Ritchie Blackmore left Deep Purple, many observers and critics assumed that Deep Purple would not continue. It was David Coverdale who asked Jon Lord to keep the band together, and Tommy Bolin was asked to take the guitar slot.

Musically, the album is far more commercial than previous Deep Purple releases, tending toward a conventional hard rock focus with overtones of soul and funk. The album shows the strong funk influence of Glenn Hughes on the band at this point, who had formed a bond with the equally commercially-minded Bolin. In general the album is considered one of Deep Purple's lesser efforts, although it did sell reasonably well on release (#19 in the UK charts, and #43 in the US).

After tours for this album, Deep Purple broke up for eight years. In 1976 Tommy Bolin died from a heroin overdose.

In recent years the album has received some critical reassessment, primarily due to Bolin's contributions to the album.

This record, which had been out of print in the US for over 20 years, was re-released by Friday Music label on July 31, 2007 (Along with Made in Europe and Stormbringer). While the label's website claims that the album has been digitally remastered, it is unclear which tapes were used as a source for this remastering. This fact is of special note in the case of this record, since EMI has claimed for years that the master tapes of this album are missing.

1. "Comin' Home" (David Coverdale, Tommy Bolin, Ian Paice) – 3:55
2. "Lady Luck" (Coverdale, Roger Cook) – 2:48
3. "Gettin' Tighter" (Bolin, Glenn Hughes) – 3:37
4. "Dealer" (Coverdale, Bolin) – 3:50
5. "I Need Love" (Coverdale, Bolin) – 4:23
6. "Drifter" (Coverdale, Bolin) – 4:02
7. "Love Child" (Coverdale, Bolin) – 3:08
8. a) "This Time Around" (Jon Lord/Hughes)
b) "Owed to 'G'" (instrumental) (Bolin) – 6:10
9. "You Keep on Moving" (Coverdale, Hughes) – 5:19

No comments: